Forgot password?
   Please leave this field empty
Home | About Us | Careers | Contact Us | Shop | Connect:
Support Education Research
Please leave this field empty

A Salute to Achievements in the Scleroderma Community

Annual Awards Recognize Dedication and Commitment to Rare Disease Population

Dr. Sergio Jimenez accepted his award at the conference
Dr. Sergio A. Jimenez accepted his award for "Doctor of the Year" at the Scleroderma Foundation's 15th Annual National Patient Education Conference.

DANVERS, MASS. (Aug. 13, 2013) – The Scleroderma Foundation named Sergio A. Jimenez, M.D., its 2013 Doctor of the Year. The award recognizes a skilled physician or researcher for his or her involvement within the Foundation, and for helping provide guidance and support to the organization’s patient population.

Dr. Jimenez has devoted nearly four decades to the treatment of patients with scleroderma and to conduct research studies aimed at the identification and characterization of the molecular and biochemical alterations caused by the disease. He is currently Director of the Scleroderma Center, Co-Director of the Jefferson Institute of Molecular Medicine, Director of the Division of Connective Tissue Diseases, and Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology at Thomas Jefferson University in Philadelphia. As Dr. Jimenez accepted his award he said, “I want to thank my patients with scleroderma, who over the years, have shown me numerous virtues and qualities of the human spirit. They have shown me an enormous courage and great strength of character to fight the disease, remarkable endurance and resilience to cope with the often devastating effects of scleroderma; and most importantly, they have shown me an enormous generosity and selflessness.”

In addition to his clinical and research work, he has been a long-time supporter of the Scleroderma Foundation and has served on its Medical Advisory Board since its inception in 1998, and before that as an advisor to the organizations that preceded the current Foundation. “Without the dedication of medical professionals like Dr. Jimenez, the Foundation could not offer the number of resources and information it does to those living with scleroderma,” said Robert J. Riggs, the organization’s CEO.

The Foundation presented 11 other awards during a banquet at its 15th Annual National Patient Education Conference held recently in Atlanta. This year’s Messenger of Hope award, which acknowledges an individual’s words or actions that offer hope and inspiration, was presented to Carol Feghali-Bostwick, Ph.D. Last year, Dr. Feghali-Bostwick and her research team at the University of Pittsburgh identified a protein molecule, the E4 peptide, which published laboratory studies indicate can stop and reverse fibrosis. Studies by the National Institutes of Health indicate that some sort of tissue fibrosis contributes to 45 percent of deaths in developed countries, including heart, lung, liver and kidney disorders. The news about the E4 peptide is significant not only for the scleroderma community, but for millions of people living with other conditions around the world.

The Philanthropist of the Year award honored Bill and Joi Goodbread, of St. Louis, Mo., for their continued support of the Foundation’s National Conference Scholarship Fund. The Goodbreads have provided an opportunity for those who otherwise would be unable to attend the National Patient Education Conference through their support of the scholarship fund. “In addition to their philanthropic generosity, Bill and Joi have worked tirelessly to help others living with scleroderma through board service as well as countless hours spent working on special events, advocacy and patient education,” said Tracey O. Sperry, the Foundation’s Director of Development and Research.

Other award honorees were:

  • Lifetime Achievement Award: Mary Blades, Springfield, Mo.
  • National Volunteer of the Year: Tracy Frech, M.D., M.S., Salt Lake City, Utah
  • Chapter Volunteers of the Year: Doreen Towhey and Peggy Levengood, Lilburn, Ga.
  • Support Group Volunteer of the Year: Donna Stone, Portland, Ore.
  • Individual Fundraiser of the Year: Wade Dauberman, Muncy, Pa.
  • Chapter of the Year: Greater San Diego Chapter
  • Outstanding Chapter Awareness: Michigan Chapter
  • Outstanding Patient Education Program: Southern California Chapter
  • Outstanding Patient Support Award: Washington Evergreen Chapter

For more information about the annual awards, please contact the Scleroderma Foundation’s National Office at (800) 722-HOPE (4763).


All active news articles